

# **2021 RECAP**

By Crystal Sauder, RC

2021 was a year of positive change for the Kankakee County SWCD. The District is heading into the new year with exciting projects, partnerships, and opportunities on the horizon!

In July, the Kankakee County SWCD was awarded a 2-year capacity building grant from the Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation.

In August, the Kankakee County SWCD was awarded an 18-month Conservation Champions grant from the National Wildlife Federation.

Employee rolls around the office have changed. Emilie Watkins is now our remote Grants and Special Projects Manager. Crystal Sauder has moved into the roll as the Resource Conservationist. In December, the District hired Matt Raymond as our Conservation Coordinator.



# **BOARD & STAFF**

## **DIRECTORS**

- Jeff O'Connor
- Jim Frogge
- Larry Kirchner
- Alan Wissmiller
- Ed Brown

## **ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR**

- John Settle

#### **STAFF**

- Crystal Sauder, Resource Conservationist
- Linda Settle, Administrative Coordinator
- Matt Raymond, Conservation Coordinator
- Emilie Watkins, Grants Coordinator

#### **NRCS**

- Trenton Rader, District Conservationist

## **OFFICE HOURS**

M-F 8am-4pm

685 Larry Power Rd, Bourbonnais, IL 60914



www.kankakeecountyswcd.org



# 74th Annual Meeting Minutes

The seventy-fourth Annual Meeting of the Kankakee County Soil and Water Conservation District was held on Monday, February 8, 2021 on Zoom with seven people present.

Chairman Jeff O'Connor opened the business proportion of the Annual Meeting at 7:33 am. Board members and staff present: Director's Jeff O'Connor, Larry Kirchner, Alan Wissmiller, Jim Frogge, and Ed Brown, Resource Conservationist Emilie Watkins, and Educational Coordinator Crystal Sauder.

The agenda was presented; a motion to approve the agenda as presented was made by Jim Frogge and seconded by Jeff O'Connor. Motion passed.

Emilie Watkins reported that the financial statement was published in the Annual Report. A motion was made by Jeff O'Connor to approve the report as printed; it was seconded by Alan Wissmiller. Motion passed.

Alan Wissmiller reported for the nominating committee and presented the results of the election held on February 3, 2021. Jeff O'Connor and Jim Frogge were re-elected for 2-year terms each and Ed Brown filling Dave Peter's Director vacancy for a 1-year term. He moved to accept the nominated candidates as duly elected. It was seconded by Larry Kirchner. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Jeff O'Connor and Ed Brown to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 7:39 am.

